Why “Pro- Life” really means “Anti Abortion”

I was going to avoid this topic as it’s very near and dear to me.  I am a woman and I was lucky enough to grow up with a mother who is a Neonatal Nurse.

About 5 years ago I found myself pregnant and though it was unplanned, I was in a serious relationship and would have kept the child.  However, as I went back for my check up (it was too early to see an actual zygote and they could only tell from a urine and blood test) I was told that the egg was actually lodged in my Fallopian tube.  I had never heard of an ectopic pregnancy before then.  But as I told my mom over the phone she asked me what I would do.  I was terrified.  Though I was always pro choice, I hate hospitals and surgery scares me.  Thankfully, it was only about 4 weeks in and I was told I could do a simple medical abortion, no surgery needed.  In fact, I later found out this is what almost 90% of women who have abortions do because they come in early enough.  Basically you take two doses of high strength pills which force your period.  It’s what the morning after pill does.  You uterus expels the fertilized egg, you have bad cramps for a day or two and you move on with your life.

Sure I thought about all the what ifs, but I didn’t want to die.  You can’t carry a baby in your fallopian tubes.  So you can either risk surgery to replant the egg in your uterus, you can wait til the body aborts it naturally or you can die when the egg tries to grow and causes internal bleeding.  I chose the smart route, and took a couple pills instead.  And I will never ever feel guilty for making the choice.

So fast forward to today and all I hear about are how “baby killers” are “ruining the world” and have “no respect for life”.  I did not “kill” a baby.  I have great respect for human life.  Probably more so than more pro-lifers in that I know we only get ONE life on earth.  But these people don’t bother me nearly as much as people who call themselves Agnostic or Atheist and still hold onto pro-life ideas.

First off, you are not “pro life”.  Everyone who is breathing is pro life.  What you are is ANTI abortion.  And I am willing to bet that it is because, like most people, you have very little understanding of the science behind the female body, reproduction or abortions.

For starters, the human body rejects fertilized eggs all the time.  Naturally.  Women who cannot get pregnant usually have a uterus that reject eggs and treats them as foreign objects.  They have to rely on medical intervention or surrogates to even GET pregnant.  So, no, not all uteruses are created equal.  There are also those women who because of physical duress or illness have aborted fertilized eggs naturally.  Sometimes the body decides it doesn’t have the ability to feed another living thing and expels the egg/fetus.  We usually call this a miscarriage but sometimes it’s just as simple as getting your period soon after hearing you are pregnant.

As an aside to “abortions are natural” do you know why we crack eggs in a separate bowl when cooking?  Because before we had technology  (or candles) there was no way to tell if your menstruated hen eggs were fertilized or not.  Humans bodies are not unique in rejecting eggs.

So, now that you understand it occurs for many reasons without science intervention, let me explain why science intervenes.  Women used to die in childbirth much more often before medical science.  In fact, it was so common that you will find it is a common thread throughout older literature.  Thankfully, we now have ways of making this body straining act safer.  But not all women are lucky enough to be healthy and for them, pregnancy is extremely dangerous.  Does this mean they shouldn’t have an active sex life or want to attempt to have children?  Does it also mean that should they find themselves pregnant but unable to carry to term they should be denied their right to seek every available medical option to survive?

For starters educate yourself.

So you say “okay, women who might die should be allowed abortions, but no one else!”

Ah, what then in the case of rape?  Do you as an agnostic/atheist support the Old Testament belief that rapists own their victims and can force them into marriage and child birth?  Do you honestly believe that a girl or woman is so much less than a human that not only should she be used as a sex toy but she should be forced through all the pain and trauma of childbirth as well?

I sincerely hope your answer is “no”.

Lastly, let’s get some facts straight about abortions here in the US.

1. A good 90% of abortions are done early and with pills which eject merely a fertilized egg.  Not a zygote, not a fetus, not even close to a baby.  And by increasing accessibility to abortions and the morning after pill, this percentage would go up as women would no longer have to wait or jump through hoops.

2. Late Term Abortions aka: partial birth abortions were outlawed over a decade ago.  Let’s stop circulating pictures of outdated medical practices as evidence against something unrelated, shall we?

3. By cutting funding to Planned Parenthood and other such women’s health programs you are not only denying poverty level women a chance for cancer screenings and HIV testing, you are also making it more difficult for women to detect and deal with pregnancy EARLIER.  Not to mention the easy access to contraceptives would prevent more pregnancies in the first place.

I implore you, next time you want to make a judgment call on abortion, do your research first.  Some of those pictures are a hoax.  And those of you who do not believe in a “soul” or supernatural conception should have an understanding of what it means to be “viable”.

Leave a Reply

